Of Note

Image of spiral staircase

Benjamin Enke Named Sloan Fellow

Faculty Associate Benjamin Enke, assistant professor of economics at Harvard University, is one of 128 early-career scholars who received a 2021 Sloan Research Fellowship. Awarded by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, the fellowship recognizes the achievements of promising scientific researchers in the US and Canada and helps financially support their research over two years. 

Tom Osborn Wins TED Fellowship

Tom Osborn, former Undergraduate Associate and Harvard ‘20, joins the 2021 class of TED Fellows. The TED Fellows program celebrates its twelfth year with a network of 512 Fellows from 100 countries. TED Fellows are selected for their remarkable achievements, the potential impact of their work, and their commitment to community building. Osborn is the founder of Shamiri, a youth-led organization providing mental health care solutions to teens across Kenya, where clinical depression runs rampant among young people. 

Daniel Agbiboa Wins IAS Fellowship

Faculty Associate Daniel Agbiboa, assistant professor of African and African American studies at Harvard University, was selected to be a fellow at the Institute for Advanced Study (IAS), School of Social Science, at Princeton for the academic year 2021–2022. Each year, approximately twenty-five scholars are selected as members in the School of Social Science, and the theme for next year is “Political Mobilizations and Social Movements.” Agbiboa will spend the year working on a forthcoming book on the #EndSARS movement against police brutality in Nigeria. 

Kathryn Sikkink Elected as a Fellow of the American Academy of Political and Social Science

Every year, the American Academy of Political Science (AAPSS) inducts a cohort of fellows in recognition of their contributions to the advancement of science and deepening of public understanding of human behavior and social dynamics. Faculty Associate Kathryn Sikkink, Ryan Family Professor of Human Rights Policy at Harvard Kennedy School and Carol K. Pforzheimer Professor at Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, is one of five fellows recognized this year for her work on international norms and institutions, transnational advocacy networks, the impact of human rights law and policies, and transitional justice.

New Commission to Bring Universal Health Care to India 

India’s health care system is riddled with inequities, which the COVID-19 pandemic has only exacerbated. The new Lancet Citizens’ Commission on Reimagining India’s Health System is an ambitious endeavor to chart a path toward universal health coverage for the people of India. The new commission is cochaired by two Faculty Associates: Tarun Khanna, Jorge Paulo Lemann Professor at Harvard Business School, and Vikram Patel, The Pershing Square Professor of Global Health and Wellcome Trust Principal Research Fellow at Harvard Medical School and professor of global health and population at Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Also involved in the commission is Faculty Associate S.V. Subramanian, professor of population health and geography at Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.

James Sidanius Receives APA Distinguished Scientific Applications Award 

Faculty Associate James Sidanius, John Lindsley Professor of Psychology in Memory of William James and professor of African and African American studies at Harvard University, received the 2021 APA Award for Distinguished Scientific Applications of Psychology. Every year, the award is given to a person who has made “distinguished theoretical or empirical advances leading to the understanding or amelioration of important practical problems.”

Elizabeth Spelke Receives APS Mentor Award 

Faculty Associate Elizabeth Spelke, Marshall L. Berkman Professor of Psychology at Harvard University, is one of four recipients of the 2021 Association for Psychological Science (APS) Mentor Award, which recognizes psychology researchers and educators who have shaped the future directions of science by fostering the careers of students and colleagues. Spelke has helped dozens of mentees launch careers rooted in unique, rich research questions and is known for her expertise on the cognitive capabilities of young children.

Joshua D. Kertzer Wins Karl Deutsch Award

Faculty Associate Joshua D. Kertzer, Paul Sack Associate Professor of Political Economy at Harvard University, is the recipient of the 2021 Karl Deutsch Award for his significant contribution to the study of international relations and peace research. Named for Karl Deutsch, the award was established in 1981 to recognize scholars in international relations under age forty, or within ten years of defending their dissertation. 

Paul Kosmin Wins Guggenheim Fellowship

Faculty Associate Paul Kosmin, assistant professor of the classics at Harvard University, was awarded a 2021 Guggenheim Fellowship to write a new book provisionally titled The Ancient Shore. The Guggenheim Fellowship Program, established in 1925, awards approximately 175 individuals every year to those with exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts. 

Vincent Brown Wins Anisfield-Wolf Book Award

Faculty Associate Vincent Brown, Charles Warren Professor of American History and professor of African and African American studies at Harvard University, received the 2021 Anisfield-Wolf Book Award for his groundbreaking work, Tacky’s Revolt: The Story of an Atlantic Slave War (Harvard University Press, 2020). The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards, administered every year by the Cleveland Foundation, are the only national juried prize for literature that confronts racism and explores diversity. 

Sheila S. Jasanoff Elected into American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Faculty Associate Sheila S. Jasanoff, Pforzheimer Professor of Science and Technology Studies at Harvard Kennedy School, is one of the newest members elected into the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. Every year since 1780, the Academy recognizes exceptionally accomplished individuals across a wide range of professions and disciplines. Jasanoff joins a cohort of more than 250 other artists, scholars, scientists, and leaders in the public, nonprofit, and private sectors.