Student Programs

2018 Thomas Temple Hoopes Prize Winners

The Weatherhead Center congratulates the following Undergraduate Associates who were awarded 2018 Thomas Temple Hoopes Prizes on the basis of their outstanding scholarly work.

Image of 2018 Hoopes Prize winners

Benjamin David Grimm, “Being Muslim, Becoming Swedish: Swedish Muslim Identity and the Challenge to Secular Nationalism.”

Margot Sabina Mai, “Street Hurt: Injury and Care in Nigerian Sex Work Migration.”

Iman Aysha Masmoudi, “The Broken Chain: Understanding the Modern Crisis of Islam through the Rupture of Traditional Education.”

Theo Serlin, “Poverty and Un-British MPs: Transnational Politics and Economic Thought in Britain and India, 1886–1936.”

Jennifer Aliza Shore, “Employees of the Refugees: The Improvement of Services and Governance through Refugee Protest in Zaatari Camp.”

Kate Sohyun Yoon, “Culture and Agency in Kant’s Plan for Perpetual Peace.”

Undergraduate Associates 2018–2019

The following students have been appointed Undergraduate Student Associates for the 2018–2019 academic year and have received grants to support travel in connection with their senior thesis research on international affairs.

Michelle Borbon (Social Studies with secondary in History), Julian Sobin Fellow. Deconstructing corruption discourses in Mexico City.

Sunaina Danziger (History), Williams/Lodge International Government and Public Affairs Fellow. Nazis in America and the secret CIA programs that shaped the new global order.

Luca-Slavomir Istodor-Berceanu (Women, Gender & Sexuality), Williams/Lodge International Government and Public Affairs Fellow. LGBT activism and the decriminalization of homosexuality in Guyana.

Isabel Lapuerta (joint concentration in Music and Anthropology), Frank Boas Fellow. Cuban identity among musicians working in the tourism industry.

Molly Leavens (Environmental Science & Public Policy), Rogers Family Research Fellow. Corporate responsibility in the Indonesian cacao market.

Raquel Leslie (joint concentration in Government and East Asian Studies), Rogers Family Research Fellow. Elite surveys of African officials’ attitudes toward the “China Model” in relation to the Washington consensus.

Michelle Liang (joint concentration in History & Literature and Women, Gender & Sexuality), Frank Boas Fellow.Transnational comparative analysis of queer rights activism in Jordan and Switzerland.

Sierra Nota (joint concentration in History and Slavic Languages and Literatures), Williams/Lodge International Government and Public Affairs Fellow. City development and the Trans-Siberian Railway.

Christina Qiu (Applied Mathematics), Simmons Family Research Fellow. The effectiveness of job counseling for Roma settlement residents in the Île-de-France region. 

Ziqi Qiu (joint concentration in History and Mathematics), Williams/Lodge International Government and Public Affairs Fellow. Publishing industry in Qing, China, and a microhistorical research on the 1832 voyage of Lord Amherst.

Arthur Schott Lopes (History with secondary in Classical Civilizations), Williams/Lodge International Government and Public Affairs Fellow. Colonial imperialism: Gilberto Freyre and the Luso-Brazilian Confederation from 1915–1965.

Rohan Shah (Social Studies), Rogers Family Research Fellow. The disruptive effect of "water ATMs" on informal water vending in settlements in Nairobi.

Alexandra Shpitalnik (Government and Slavic Literatures & Cultures), Frank Boas Fellow. Repression of NGOs in Russia from 2012 to the present day.

Wonik Son (History), Williams/Lodge International Government and Public Affairs Fellow. The perception of disability in the global imagination, informed by the images of postwar UN humanitarian photography.

Elsie Tellier (Sociology), Canada Program Undergraduate Research Fellow. The impact of the gap in treatment for Indigenous Canadian children with fetal alcohol spectrum disorders in the child welfare system.

Richard Yarrow (joint concentration in History and Philosophy), Williams/Lodge International Government and Public Affairs Fellow. Nationalism and politicization of World War I-era European scientists.

Photo Caption

Collage of 2018 Hoopes Prize winners, clockwise from top left: Kate Yoon, Iman Masmoudi, Theo Serlin, Margot Mai, and Benjamin Grimm (not pictured: Jennifer Shore). Individual photos used with permission of students