Of Note

Image of spiral staircase

Alisha Holland Wins Seligson Prize

Faculty Associate Alisha Holland, associate professor of government at Harvard University, is the recipient of the 2020 Seligson Prize for her paper, “Diminished Expectations: Redistributive Preferences in Truncated Welfare States,” published by World Politics in October 2018. According to the Princeton Institute of International and Regional Studies, the Seligson Prize is awarded annually to the best scholarship—paper, book, dissertation, or other scholarly work—using AmericasBarometer data from the Latin American Public Opinion Project.

Andrew Gordon Wins the 2nd International Award for Japanese Studies

Faculty Associate Andrew Gordon, Lee and Juliet Folger Fund Professor of History at Harvard University, is the recipient of the 2020 International Award for Japanese Studies. The award, presented by the National Institutes for the Humanities, gave the award to Gordon for his speciality in modern Japanese labor history research. 

Tanushree Goyal Wins APSA Kauffman Foundation Award

Academy Scholar Tanushree Goyal, PhD candidate at Nuffield College, University of Oxford, is the winner of the 2020 Kauffman Award. The award is given by the American Political Science Association Section on Class and Inequality to the best paper on inclusion and entrepreneurship. Goyal won the award for her paper, “How Women Mobilize Women into Politics: A Natural Experiment in India.” 

New Book by Vincent Brown Wins Multiple Awards

The new book by Faculty Associate Vincent Brown, Charles Warren Professor of American History and professor of African and African American studies at Harvard University, is called Tacky’s Revolt: The Story of an Atlantic Slave War (Harvard University Press, 2020). Brown is the recipient of the 2020 Phillis Wheatley Book Award, given to books published within the last five years covering the topic of American slavery, in the nonfiction research category. Tacky’s Revolt also put Brown on multiple shortlists, including the 2020 shortlist for the prestigious Cundhill History Prize as well as for the Maah Stone Book Award. 

SAW Book Prize Goes to Ieva Jusionyte

Faculty Associate Ieva Jusionyte, John L. Loeb Associate Professor of the Social Sciences at Harvard University, is the recipient of the 2020 Society for the Anthropology of Work (SAW) Book Prize for her ethnography of emergency workers, Threshold: Emergency Responders on the US-Mexico Border (University of California Press, 2018). SAW recognizes Jusionyte’s accomplishments as “some of the most rigorous, humane, and original fieldwork in the anthropology of work.” 

Two Former Academy Scholars Win APSA Book Award

The American Political Science Association’s Section on Migration and Citizenship awarded two former Academy Scholars their 2020 Best Book prize: Jeffrey S. Kahn, assistant professor of anthropology at UC Davis, for Islands of Sovereignty: Haitian Migration and the Borders of Empire (University of Chicago Press, 2019), and Noora Lori, assistant professor of international relations at Boston University, for Offshore Citizens: Permanent Temporary Status in the Gulf (Cambridge University Press, 2019). 

Graduate Student Cresa Pugh Receives Derek C. Bok Award

Cresa Pugh, Graduate Student Associate and PhD candidate in the Department of Sociology at Harvard University and Program in Social Policy at Harvard Kennedy School, is one of five recipients of the 2020 Derek C. Bok Awards for Excellence in Graduate Student Teaching of Undergraduates. These awards, established in 2008, recognize the crucial role of graduate students in undergraduate education at Harvard College.  

Amartya Sen Wins Peace Prize of the German Book Trade

The German Publishers and Booksellers Association awarded Weatherhead Center Faculty Associate Amartya Sen, Thomas W. Lamont University Professor at Harvard University, the 2020 Peace Prize of the German Book Trade. The board of trustees recognizes Sen for his pioneering work on global justice, including social inequality in education and healthcare. 

Radcliffe Institute Welcomes Christina L. Davis and Torben Iversen As 2020–2021 Fellows

Two Weatherhead Center Faculty Associates join the 2020–2021 class of Radcliffe Institute Fellows, where they will spend the year focused on their own research projects. Christina L. Davis, Susan S. and Kenneth L. Wallach Professor at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study and professor of government at Harvard University, is working on a project called “Entry and Exit: How Membership in International Organizations Transforms International Cooperation.” Torben Iversen, Harold Hitchings Burbank Professor of Political Economy at Harvard University, is working on a project called “The Data Revolution and the Transformation of Social Protection.”