Student Programs

Kenneth I. Juster Fellows

Image of Kenneth I. JusterThe Weatherhead Center is pleased to announce its 2013–2014 class of Juster Fellows. Now in its third year, this grant initiative is made possible by the generosity of the Center’s Advisory Committee Chair, the Honorable Kenneth I. Juster, who has devoted much of his education, professional activities, and nonprofit endeavors to international affairs and is deeply engaged in promoting international understanding and advancing international relations. The Center’s Juster grants support undergraduates whose projects may be related to thesis research but may have broader experiential components as well. The newly named Juster Fellows, all of whom will be conducting their research this January, and their topics are:

Ralph “Tre” Hunt, a junior African and African American Studies concentrator, will travel to Kenya in order to conduct research on the strategic role of Chinese Confucius institutes in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Mathilde Montpetit, a junior Social Studies concentrator, will work with an NGO to conduct research on the benefits of mobile refrigeration for nutrition in Burkina Faso.

Kendra Norton, a junior Visual and Environmental Studies concentrator, and Samuel “Gus” Ruchman, a junior African and African American Studies concentrator, will travel together to Senegal to make an ethnographic documentary film that they hope will provide an honest and candid portrayal of life in Sangalkam, Senegal.

Ishani Premaratne, a junior Anthropology concentrator, will conduct a comparative study of traditional and allopathic medical practices in women’s health in Chiapas, Mexico.

Simon Thompson, a senior Government concentrator, will conduct thesis research in Nigeria on decision making in foreign military interventions.

Bharath Venkatesh, a sophomore Economics concentrator, will travel to Dhaka, Bangladesh, where he will be working with the NGO, Swisscontact, to conduct research on agriculture produce price-setting behavior in haats (rural village markets).

Fulbright and Rhodes Scholars

The Weatherhead Center congratulates 2012–2013 Undergraduate Associates Ann Marie Ryu, Emily Keamy-Minor, and Tyler Logigian for their Fulbright awards.

The Center also congratulates 2013–2014 Undergraduate Associate Paolo Poggioni Singer on his Rhodes Scholarship.

Photo Caption

Center Advisory Committee Chair Kenneth I. Juster.