Of Note

Former Fellow Appointed to Alphinat Board of Directors

Former Fellow (1986–1987) Marcel Côté has been appointed to the Alphinat board of directors. Côté is a strategic advisor at KPMG Canada. For thirty-five years, he has led the Secor Group, one of Canada’s largest management consulting firms, until it merged with KPMG Canada in 2012. Alphinat provides software that simplifies, accelerates, and improves interactions with all business constituents. It was awarded the IBM Top Star award for best e-government solution among entries from 189 countries and was recognized by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) for its EGovernment for Better Government report.

Weatherhead Center Faculty Associate Ranked in Top 100 Law School Researchers

J. Mark Ramseyer, the Mitsubishi Professor of Japanese Legal Studies at Harvard Law School, ranked in the top 100 law school researchers. Statistics released by the Social Science Research Network (SSRN) indicate that, as of the end of 2013, Harvard Law School professors and senior fellows associated with the Program on Corporate Governance featured prominently on SSRN’s law author rankings. These professors and fellows captured ten of the top 100 slots in all legal areas in terms of citations to their work.

Weatherhead Center Faculty Associate Recipient of Frontiers of Knowledge Award

The BBVA Foundation has named Elhanan Helpman, the Galen L. Stone Professor of International Trade in the Department of Economics, as the recipient of the Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Economics, Finance, and Management. The award seeks to recognize and encourage world-class research and artistic creation, prizing contributions of lasting impact for their originality, theoretical significance, and ability to push back the frontiers of the known world.

Weatherhead Center Faculty Associate Recipient of Sloan Research Fellowship

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation has named Richard Hornbeck, assistant professor in the Department of Economics, as a recipient of a 2014 Sloan Research Fellowship. These fellowships seek to stimulate fundamental research by early-career scientists and scholars of outstanding promise. These two-year fellowships are awarded yearly to 126 researchers in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field.

Weatherhead Center Faculty Associate Named Radcliffe Institute Fellow

Professor Michael Kremer, the Gates Professor of Developing Societies in the Department of Economics, was named as one of the 2013–2014 Radcliffe Institute Fellows. Kremer researches developing societies and is a specialist on education and health in developing countries. The Radcliffe Institute Fellowship Program annually selects and supports fifty leading artists and scholars who have both exceptional promise and demonstrated accomplishments in their field.

Weatherhead Center Faculty Associate Awarded Outstanding Author Contribution

A chapter coauthored by Diane Davis, professor of urbanism and development in the Harvard Graduate School of Design, and Onesimo Flores Dewey, lecturer and senior researcher at the Harvard Kennedy School, was named an Outstanding Author Contribution in the 2014 Emerald Literati Network Awards for Excellence. “How to Defeat an Urban Megaproject: Lessons from Mexico City’s Airport Controversy,” appeared in Research in Urban Sociology last year and was called “one of the most impressive pieces of work the team has seen throughout 2013” by the Emerald Group Publishing Editors.

Davis and Flores Dewey are director and senior researcher for Transforming Urban Transport (TUT)—The Role of Political Leadership, a project hosted by the GSD. Sponsored by Volvo’s Research and Educational Foundations, TUT advances the knowledge of how, when, and where political leadership has been critical to the successful implementation of path-breaking transportation policies.

Three Harvard Academy Scholars Recent Award Recipients

Julian Go (2001–2003) was recently awarded the Francesco Guiccardini Prize, given annually for the Best Book in Historical International Relations given by the Historical International Relations section of the International Studies Association. The Guiccardini Prize is given “to those books that conduct careful historical analysis while producing significant insights into ongoing concerns in international studies.” Go’s book, Patterns of Empire: British and American Empires, 1688 to the Present, was also noted to be “simply a beautiful read.” Patterns of Empire also received the 2011 Greenstone Book Prize of the American Political Science Association and the 2012 Best Book in Global and Transnational Sociology from the American Sociological Association.

Fotini Christia (2009–2010 and 2011–2012) was recently recognized by the International Studies Association (ISA). Her book, Alliance Formation in Civil Wars, was presented the Distinguished Book Award by the Emigration, Nationalism and Migration Section (ENMISA) which recognizes the best book published over the past two years in the study of the international politics of ethnicity, nationalism or migration.

Lina Britto (2013–2014) was the recipient of the Latin American Studies Association/Oxfam American’s Martin Diskin Dissertation Award Honorable Mention for 2014.

The Politics of Nation-Building: Making Co- Nationals, Refugees, and Minorities, by Harris Mylonas (2008–2009 and 2011–2012), won the European Studies Book Award by the Council for European Studies for the best first book on any subject in European Studies published within a two-year period. Mylonas was also awarded an honorable mention by the Rothschild Prize in Nationalities and Ethnic Studies Committee of the Association for the Study of Nationalities.