Of Note

Image of spiral staircase

Michael Reich Receives Lifetime Service Award for Research

Michael Reich, Taro Takemi Professor of International Health Policy at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, has received a Lifetime Service award. Reich was given the award for his work—spanning more than four decades—in the field of health policy and systems research. The award is given by the Alliance for Health Policy and Systems Research (AHPSE) and Health Systems Global (HSG).

Calestous Juma Receives 2017 Breakthrough Paradigm Award

Faculty Associate Calestous Juma, Professor of the Practice of International Development at Harvard Kennedy School, was recently named a recipient of the 2017 Breakthrough Paradigm Award. The award, given by the Breakthrough Institute, "recognizes accomplishment and leadership in the effort to make the future secure, free, prosperous, and fulfilling for all the world’s inhabitants on an ecologically vibrant planet." Juma's groundbreaking research in biotechnology and innovation solidifies his position as a thought leader in the fields of science and technology.

Tamar Herzog Awarded James A. Rawley Prize

Faculty Associate Tamar Herzog, Monroe Gutman Professor of Latin American Affairs and Radcliffe Alumnae Professor, was awarded the 2016 James A. Rawley Prize for her book, Frontiers of Possession: Spain and Portugal in Europe and the Americas (Harvard University Press, 2015). The award, given by the American Historical Association, goes to the best book that explores the integration of Atlantic worlds before the twentieth century.

Susan J. Pharr Wins Japan Foundation Award

Faculty Associate and Director of the Program on U.S.-Japan Relations Susan J. Pharr, also the Edwin O. Reischauer Professor of Japanese Politics at Harvard University, was awarded a 2016 Japan Foundation Award for her lifetime of work in promoting international mutual understanding, especially between Japan and the United States. Pharr is a widely recognized leader in her field, and holds deep insight into Japanese politics through a comparative politics lens.

Two Graduate Students Win Bok Center Teaching Awards

Graduate Student Associates Nina Gheihman and Margot Moinester received Certificates of Distinction in Teaching from the Derek Bok Center for Teaching and Learning for their teaching courses offered during the spring 2016 term. The Harvard award goes to teaching fellows, teaching assistants, and course assistants. 

Mary C. Waters Receives Distinguished Career Award from ASA

Faculty Associate Mary C. Waters, M.E. Zukerman Professor of Sociology, is the recipient of the 2016 Distinguished Career Award from the American Sociological Association's Section on International Migration. The award recognizes exceptional achievement and a lifetime of scholarly contribution to the field of the sociology of international migration.

Nancy Khalil Receives Student Spark Grant Award

Graduate Student Associate Nancy Khalil was awarded a Spark Grant from the Harvard Initiative for Learning and Teaching. The grant, aimed toward full-time Harvard degree program students, offers six-month awards up to $10,000. Khalil will offer a year-long Writing Oasis program, based on a successful pilot offering, to provide dedicated time and collaboration for graduate students in their dissertation writing.

Aisha Beliso-De Jesús Wins Journal of Africana Religions Book Prize

Faculty Associate Aisha Beliso-De Jesús, associate professor of African American religions at the Harvard Divinity School, won the 2016 Albert J. Raboteau Book Prize for the Best Book in Africana Religions for Electric Santería: Racial and Sexual Assemblages of Transnational Religion (Columbia University Press, 2015). This award is given each year to an academic book that exemplifies the ethos and mission of the Journal of Africana Religions, an interdisciplinary journal that publishes scholarship on African and African diasporic religious traditions.

Kenneth Rogoff Makes Long List for 2016 Business Book of Year Award

Faculty Associate Kenneth Rogoff, the Thomas D. Cabot Professor of Public Policy, made the long list for the Business Book of the Year Award by Financial Times. Rogoff’s book, The Curse of Cash, makes the controversial case that paper money makes the world poorer and less safe. The winner of the £30,000 prize will go to the book that is judged to have provided the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues, with £10,000 awarded to each runner-up.

Alexia Yates Awarded the 2016 Wallace K. Ferguson Prize

Alexia Yates, Affiliate in the Center for History and Economics Program and Assistant Professor of History at York University, won the Wallace K. Ferguson Prize for her book Selling Paris: Property and Commercial Culture in the Fin-de-siècle Capital (Harvard University Press, 2015). Every year the Canadian Historical Association recognizes an outstanding scholarly book in a field of history, other than Canadian history, for the award.

Prerna Singh Wins Two Book Prizes 

Former Faculty Associate and Academy Scholar Prerna Singh, the Mahatma Gandhi Assistant Professor of Political Science and International and Public Affairs at Brown University, won two recent awards for her book How Solidarity Works for Welfare: Subnationalism and Social Development in India (Cambridge University Press, 2016). She won the 2016 Woodrow Wilson Award, given annually by Princeton University for the best book on government, politics, or international affairs. She also won the 2016 Barrington Moore Book Award, given every year by the Comparative and Historical Sociology section of the American Sociological Association to the best book in the areas of comparative and historical sociology.

Natasha Warikoo Receives Research Funding from Russell Sage Foundation

Faculty Associate Natasha Warikoo, Associate Professor of Education at the Harvard Graduate School of Education, was awarded research funding by the Russell Sage Foundation for new research in the Asian American community. Warikoo’s project will “explore how group boundaries, beliefs about success, youth culture, and conceptions of race change when upwardly-mobile Asian Americans move into two higher-income, predominantly white suburbs.”

Karl Kaiser Receives Dr. Jean Mayer Award

Karl Kaiser, Senior Associate of the Weatherhead Center's Program on Transatlantic Relations and adjunct professor of public policy at the Harvard Kennedy School, was awarded the Dr. Jean Mayer Global Citizenship Award. Recipients of this award, given by the Institute for Global Leadership (IGL) at Tufts University, typically give a lecture and work with the IGL to create meaningful learning opportunities for its students at their organization or home country.