The Harvard Academy for International and Area Studies

Founded in 1984, The Harvard Academy for International and Area Studies is dedicated to increasing our knowledge of the culture, history, and institutions of the world's major regions and countries. To accomplish this goal, it sponsors the Academy Scholars Program, organizes seminars and conferences, and supports Harvard faculty research and publications.

The Academy Scholars Program was established to identify and support outstanding scholars who are at the start of their careers and whose work combines disciplinary excellence in the social sciences or law with a command of the language and history or culture of countries or regions outside of the United States or Canada. Their scholarship may elucidate domestic, comparative, or transnational issues, past or present. Academy Scholars are appointed for a two-year, in-residence, postdoctoral fellowship at The Harvard Academy for International and Area Studies, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA. They receive substantial financial and research assistance to undertake sustained projects of research and/or acquire accessory training in their chosen fields and areas. They participate actively in the intellectual life of the University, engaging in seminars, workshops, and conferences. They often advise graduate or undergraduate students on their research projects. During the course of the fellowship, each Academy Scholar presents his or her work at a seminar to colleagues, Harvard Academy Senior Scholars, and other interested faculty and graduate students. Many Academy Scholars, in addition, present their book manuscript for intensive discussion at The Harvard Academy-sponsored author's conferences, to which a small number of colleagues from Harvard and other universities are invited.

The Harvard Academy Senior Scholars, a distinguished group of senior members of Harvard's faculty, act as The Harvard Academy's oversight committee, select new Academy Scholars, and serve as mentors to them. The Harvard Academy Senior Scholars are David R. Armitage, Melani Cammett, Timothy J. Colton, Melissa Dell, Grzegorz Ekiert, Steven R. Levitsky, Mary D. Lewis, George Paul Meiu, Nathan Nunn, Elizabeth J. Perry, Ajantha Subramanian, and Jocelyn Viterna.

The Harvard Academy also supports faculty research and publications. In particular, it fosters field research in countries the world over by Harvard tenure-track faculty in the social sciences. It organizes workshops and conferences that involve Academy Scholars and faculty from Harvard and other universities.

In addition, the Harvard Academy Seminar brings distinguished scholars to campus. Meeting several times a year to explore new developments in social science research that are pertinent to a direct understanding of the culture, history, and institutions of specific countries or regions, the seminar—a thirty- to forty-minute presentation followed by discussion—takes place over dinner at the Harvard Faculty Club.

The Academy Scholars Program has been made possible through the generous support of the late Dr. Ira Kukin, founding benefactor of The Harvard Academy, and Albert and Celia Weatherhead and the Weatherhead Foundation.

The application deadline for the Academy Scholars Program is October 1 of each year.

Timothy J. Colton is the chair of The Harvard Academy. Kaori Urayama is the executive officer, and Kathleen Hoover is the program coordinator. The program offices are located at 1727 Cambridge Street.

Related Links